And now … the weather

I confidently predict torrential rain on Wednesday, no matter what those amateurs at the BBC may suggest.

But why? How can I possibly be so sure?

It’s not the (non-existant) barometer in my hallway. It’s not the (also non-existant) seaweed hanging above the door. It’s not even a funny feeling in my elbow.

It’s my sister.

Wednesday is the day she goes to collect the Christian Aid envelopes she delivered last week and, going on the experience of previous years, she’ll be in for a dousing because, as we all know, no good deed goes unpunished.

She doesn’t seem to mind, phlegmatic little thing that she is. People are more likely to be at home, she reckons, if it’s raining. And, again on past performance, if she turns up on the doorstep looking like a drowned rat, she gets the sympathy vote and people seem to donate more.

That’s what she thinks, anyway. I hate to shatter her illusions, but their charitable donation may not be quite as pure and selfless as she imagines.

(This is not my sister, by the way. I borrowed this one. Mine is a hundred times more gorgeous.)

11 thoughts on “And now … the weather

  1. different rules apply in scotland, i fear, dis. hope you don’t have any holes in the roof this time.
    ister i’ll pass on your kind remarks. i’m sure christian aid will be thrilled!!!

  2. I think you should be chastised for insulting my caring, sharing employer! But you are probably right – we shall look out for the rain on Wednesday!

  3. no rain today in my part of the world – Scotland – plenty of sun – enough that I drove home with the roof down on the car! Was I fund raising? Must have forgotten that bit!

  4. well it didn’t rain, it’s true. but someone did reverse into her parked car.
    like i said, no good deed goes unpunished. and what goes around sometimes turns around and goes back in the opposite direction.

  5. She should stick to collecting in tower blocks. In my experience, the poorer people are the more they give and the weather wouldn’t be such an issue!

Leave a Reply

